Problem with consecutive operations

Jan 30, 2008 at 6:00 PM
Hi all,
I am writting an application that needs to continously upload files in a bucket.
The problem is that after some uploads (or any other operations to the bucket), I can't do any operation with that bucket, all of them time out.
I found out about ConnectionLimit, but I do not need or do any concurrent operaation, all my operations are done serially.
Is there something that I am missing?
Thanks in advance!
Jan 31, 2008 at 7:42 PM
I solved my problem!
I was checking checking for a temporary redirect (for EU buckets) with a BucketListRequest and HEAD method, as in FormSample::UploadFile.
I am only guessing that the HEAD mothod is cassing the problem, as I am not an http expert.
After I removed this check everything works fine.
I can live with that, since a temporary redirect exists only for few minutes after bucket creation.
I suppose I could use GET method instead for temporary redirects, but a better solution would be desirable.
Mar 11, 2008 at 11:01 PM
I have experienced a similar issue and I do not think the problem is with the HEAD.

My guess is that HttpWebResponse in Query.ThreeSharpQuery.Invoke<T> is never closed, so the connection is not released immediately and at some point you run out of connections. Effectively closing DataStream as suggested in the documentation does not release the connection on HttpWebResponse unless KeepAlive = false.

IMHO, the library requires a fix either to close the HttpWebResponse properly or to set KeepAlive = false on the HttpWebRequest.
See http://support.microsoft.com/kb/915599 for more information.

What is your opinion?
Mar 17, 2008 at 12:36 PM
I tried the fix you are suggesting with no luck, back when I was debugging this.
I do not remember if I was experiencing the same behaviour or if something else was not working after the fix: httpWebRequest.KeepAlive = false; in ConfigureWebRequest.
I will look into this in more detail when I find some time.